A round-up of the best healthy and easy Kosher Passover desserts that are flourless and nothing short of delicious!
Every year when April rolls around, I get asked by a reader or three for healthy flourless dessert recipes for Passover. I can't blame ya. Step aside, sponge cake!
I have such fond memories of our family's Passover seders growing up, complete with my dad's matzo brei for breakfast (scrambled eggs with matzo).
If you're looking for flourless goodies that you and the fam will adore, you're in the right place. No flavor sacrifices here, friends.
Grain free baking has come such a long way, dontcha think? The potential of almond and coconut flour plus nut butters make Passover desserts far more appealing!
What is a dessert for Passover?
A dessert that is kosher for Passover is one that does not contain wheat, oats, rye, barley and spelt (known as chometz in Hebrew). While it's unanimous that these are off the table for Passover, foods like hummus and peanut butter or rice can go either way.
Typically Jews from the Middle East eat legumes known as kitniyot while European Jews do not.
I learned from reader Rachel that this is because traditionally, Middle Eastern Jews were willing to sort through grains to check for wheat while their European counterparts were less willing. Interesting!
What to keep in mind when making a Passover dessert
Today's roundup of healthy Passover desserts are flourless, meaning they don't contain wheat flour. Typically they're made with almond, nut butter, chocolate, or coconut.
Note that there are recipes on this list that contain leavening agents. If unleavened desserts are your jam, rest assured that there are plenty of options without baking powder and baking soda as well.
Why can't you eat bread on Passover?
When the Israelites were fleeing Egypt to escape slavery, they didn't have time to wait for their bread to rise. To commemorate their hardship, we eat unleavened bread called Matzo on the eight days of Passover.
Still confused by the rules of what is and isn't Kosher for Passover? Although it may vary depending on who you ask, this New York Times article is a helpful summary of which foods are on the "yes" list.
No flour, no problem.